NASCAR and International Speedway Corp. announced a $2 billion merger that will give NASCAR control of 12 of the largest racetracks in the United States, including famed super speedways Daytona and Talladega.

The deal is expected to close by the end of 2019, according to the Associated Press and Hemmings.

The 12 International Speedway Corp.-owned tracks which will now be under the control of NASCAR per this deal are:

  • Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, CA
  • Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, IL
  • Darlington Raceway in Darlington, SC
  • Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, FL
  • Homestead-Miami Speedway in Homestead, FL
  • ISM Raceway in Avondale, AZ
  • Kansas Speedway in Kansas City, KS
  • Martinsville Speedway in Ridgeway, VA
  • Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, MI
  • Richmond Raceway in Richmond, VA
  • Talladega Superspeedway in Lincoln, AL
  • Watkins Glen International in Watkins Glen, NY

Also included in the deal is Iowa Speedway in Newton, IA, but NASCAR already had control of it prior to the merger.

The current season scheduling agreements between NASCAR and the racetracks that host its events are set to expire at the end of the 2020 race season. This merger will “make it easier for NASCAR to alter its racing schedule, making it easier to move dates from one track to another and includes the possibility of fewer events for tracks that host multiple races each year,” according to Hemmings.

You can read more about NASCAR acquiring these racetracks from Hemmings here, and Road & Track here.