2018 NHRA Gatornationals winners Gainesville

(From left to right) Richie Crampton in Top Fuel, Jack Beckman in Funny Car, Tanner Gray in Pro Stock, and Eddie Krawiec in Pro Stock Motorcycle took home Wallys for winning the NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville, FL. (Image/NHRA)

Richie Crampton took home the Top Fuel victory Sunday at the 49th annual Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals at Gainesville Raceway

Jack Beckman in Funny Car, Tanner Gray in Pro Stock, and Eddie Krawiec in Pro Stock Motorcycle, were also winners in their respective categories at the third of 24 events on the 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule.

Crampton Nabs 1st Top Fuel Win Since 2015

Crampton got the uncontested win when he piloted his Kalitta Air/DHL dragster to the winning run of 3.854 seconds at 314.90 miles per hour after Shawn Reed had to shut off his dragster on the starting line.

This is Crampton’s first Wally since Dallas 2015, first event victory in Gainesville, FL, and eighth overall.

“This is probably one of my most rewarding wins, ever,” Crampton said. “All I ever wanted to do was stand in the winner’s circle with (team owner) Connie Kalitta. Not a lot of people have had that luxury and I’m not taking this one lightly.”

Reed, who raced to his first career final round, started from the #12 position and defeated Pat Dakin, Tony Schumacher, and top-qualifier Clay Millican before the final.

Fast Jack Wins Funny Car

Beckman claimed his first Funny Car victory at Gainesville with a hole-shot win of 4.035 at 323.58 mph in his Infinite Hero Dodge Charger R/T against teammate Matt Hagan. After earning the #1 qualifier on Saturday, Beckman secured his first victory since St. Louis 2017.

“Winning this race was such a bucket-list thing,” Beckman said. “The Gatornationals came on the schedule in 1970. That year was a big year for our sport and it has been at this track ever since and I’ve never gotten close.”

Beckman out-raced Jim Campbell, Del Worsham, and Shawn Langdon before entering his first final round of the season.

Hagan and Robert Hight experienced side-by-side explosions during the quarterfinals, destroying the Funny Car bodies of both competitors. Hagan brought out a back-up car to defeat teammate Ron Capps in the semi-finals to advance to his second final round of the season.

Don’t Miss the Matt Hagan-Robert Hight No-One-Gets-Hurt Double Explosion:

Tanner Gray Pro Stock

In Pro Stock, Gray powered his Gray Motorsports Valvoline Chevrolet Camaro to victory with a run of 6.588 at 210.18 to defeat defending category world champion Bo Butner in the final round. This is his first career win at Gainesville and is a third-generation event winner.

“We’ve been struggling since the beginning of the season,” Gray said. “Today was our first round win of the season. It has definitely been a struggle, but I think it is starting to come around.”

Gray was the first driver since 2015 to win from the #11 qualifier position and defeated Deric Kramer, Chris McGaha, and Vincent Nobile. Butner qualified in the fifth position and bested Jeg Coughlin Jr., Alan Prusiensky, and Drew Skillman before facing Gray.

Pro Stock Motorcycle

Defending event and world champion Eddie Krawiec rode his bike to winner’s circle with a pass of 6.824 at 198.44 on his Screamin’ Eagles Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson. This is his sixth event victory and third consecutive win at Gainesville.

“Right now, I’m riding with the confidence that no one can beat me,” Krawiec said. “I have a great motorcycle underneath me and a great team behind me. Anytime a rider or a driver has confidence it just makes them that much better.”

Krawiec was the #2 qualifier and was victorious against LE Tonglet, Steve Johnson, Hector Arana, as well as his teammate and top-qualifier Andrew Hines in the final round.

The 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season continues with the DENSO Spark Plug NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway April 6-8 in Las Vegas, NV.

NHRA Pro Stock Point Standings

  1.  Bo Butner                 245
  2.  Jason Line                232
  3.  Chris McGaha              213
  4.  Deric Kramer              190
  4.  Drew Skillman             190

NHRA Funny Car Point Standings

  1.  Matt Hagan                268
  2.  Jack Beckman              247
  3.  Courtney Force            219
  4.  Ron Capps                 218
  5.  Robert Hight              185

NHRA Top Fuel Point Standings

  1.  Steve Torrence            217 
  2.  Antron Brown              210
  3.  Clay Millican             204 
  4.  Tony Schumacher           198 
  5.  Doug Kalitta              182

NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Point Standings

  1. Eddie Krawiec              123 
  2. Andrew Hines               107
  3. Scotty Pollacheck           76 
  4. Hector Arana                71 
  5. Steve Johnson               53
  5. Angelle Sampey              53
Drag Race Central and NHRA contributed to this report.