Brittany Force and John Force

Brittany Force celebrates her first career NHRA Top Fuel win with father, and 16-time Funny Car champion John Force Sunday at the NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville, FL. (Image/NHRA)

Greg Anderson’s win Sunday made it three-for-three in 2016 for KB Racing’s Team Summit which has left little doubt it has the cars to beat in the early going of NHRA Pro Stock’s new EFI era.

The four-time Pro Stock champ shared the Winner’s Circle stage with Brittany Force, who won her first career Top Fuel event Sunday. Robert Hight in Funny Car, and Eddie Krawiec in Pro Stock Motorcycle were also winners Sunday at the NHRA Gatornationals in Gainesville, FL.

In Pro Stock, Anderson raced his Summit Racing Equipment Chevrolet Camaro to a holeshot win against teammate and points leader Jason Line. Anderson posted a 6.590 at 210.01 miles per hour and used a quicker reaction time to cross the finish line before his teammate, who drove his Chevy Camaro to a 6.581 at 210.57. Anderson raced past V. Gaines, Jeg Coughlin Jr. and Allen Johnson in the earlier rounds.

Greg Anderson 2016 Gatornationals

Four-time Pro Stock champ Greg Anderson has won two of the first three races to start the 2016 NHRA season, and the inugural year of fuel-injected setups.

“The whole weekend was great for KB Racing,” Anderson said. “These races are not decided on paper, they’re decided on the racetrack every time. We are human and things happen different on the starting line. Somehow, I overachieved in the final and stole a victory from Jason. Good for me, but it’s still great for KB Racing. No matter what happened in the final round, it was a victory for the team. I can’t be prouder of the race team I’m on.”

Line, who won the last event in Phoenix, qualified first and had a first-round bye. He then defeated Vincent Nobile and 2015 Rookie of the Year Drew Skillman in the second and third rounds, respectively. Line has four victories in six final round appearances at Gainesville. This is the second consecutive year Line has lost to Anderson in the final at the Gatornationals.

In Top Fuel, Force powered her Monster Energy dragster to a 3.772 at 318.77 to outlast Terry McMillen’s 3.981 at 266.90 in his dragster. This was Force’s eighth career final round appearance and first ever at Gainesville Raceway. After also racing to the finals three weeks ago in Phoenix, Force became the first female Top Fuel racer to appear in back-to-back finals since Melanie Troxel in 2006. As the #5 qualifier, Force defeated Morgan Lucas, Tripp Tatum and Dave Connolly before beating McMillen in the final.

“It feels good to finally bring home the win,” said Force, daughter of 16-time Funny Car champion John Force. “Our car was on fire all weekend. It went down there and had great runs. This is a very proud moment for me and the John Force Racing team, the Monster Energy team. It took everyone to get us here.”

McMillen, also appearing in his first ever final round, sped past defending world champ Antron Brown, eight-time world champ Tony Schumacher, and Clay Millican, before having engine problems in the final against Force. McMillen jumped from 10th to fifth in points.

Leah Pritchett raced to victory in Phoenix three weeks ago, and with Force’s victory in Gainesville, this is the first time since 1990 that female Top Fuel racers have won back-to-back events.

Pritchett’s Phoenix win was also the first of her career, so Gainesville marks the first time there have been back-to-back first-time Top Fuel winners since 1993.

John Force Racing doubled up for the first time in team history as Hight pushed his Chevy Camaro SS Funny Car to a 4.429 at 280.95, outrunning Ron Capps’ 7.047 at 89.05 in his NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger R/T. This is Hight’s first win in 2016 and third at Gainesville. He qualified third and beat Terry Haddock, Matt Hagan and Chad Head en route to earning his 37th career win. Hight leads the Funny Car points.

“We’ve had a great race car the first two races, so we actually felt that we let a couple slip by that we actually could have won,” Hight said. “To come in here and actually get it done, and get it done with Brittany, both of us leaving with the points lead, man it doesn’t get any better than this. It’s been a lot of hard work and it’s finally paying off.”

Capps, who has three victories in five final round appearances at Gainesville, raced past John Hale, Cruz Pedregon, and Don Schumacher Racing teammate Jack Beckman, in the first three rounds. Capps is second in points.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Krawiec rode his Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson to a 6.820 at 198.23 to defeat Hector Arana’s 6.920 at 196.44 on his Lucas Oil Buell. This marks Krawiec’s 32nd career win and his fourth victory at Gainesville Raceway. As the top qualifier, Krawiec outran Michael Phillips, Jerry Savoie and teammate and world champion Andrew Hines to make it to the final.

“Going out there I had a great motorcycle,” Krawiec said. “I have a great crew behind me, but the key thing for me was to not screw it up. You have the first round jitters after four months of not racing, but I knew I had a fast motorcycle. We’re all really excited, everybody back at our shop. We’re glad one of our Harley-Davidsons got the win.”

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series travels to Las Vegas, April 1-3, for the NHRA Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Sunday’s race was the third of 24 scheduled for the 2016 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.

Pro Stock Point Standings

1. Jason Line             337
2. Greg Anderson          331
3. Bo Butner              233
4. Drew Skillman          205
5. Chris McGaha           161

Funny Car Point Standings

1. Robert Hight           280
2. Ron Capps              279
3. John Force             221
4. Jack Beckman           205
5. Courtney Force         201

Top Fuel Point Standings

1. Brittany Force         251
2. Clay Millican          210
3. Doug Kalitta           205
4. Steve Torrence         199
5. Terry McMillen         178

Pro Stock Motorcycle Point Standings

1. Eddie Krawiec          129
2. Hector Arana            99
3. Andrew Hines            79
4. LE Tonglet              74
5. Chip Ellis              62

The NHRA and Drag Race Central contributed to this report.