Gainesville Raceway in Gainesville, Florida welcomed a sellout crowd for the start of the 2023 NHRA drag racing season at the 2023 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals—and we’re guessing not a single spectator walked away unhappy.

That’s because the weekend saw plenty of new faces, a whole lot of surprises, and (as always) top-tier drag racing action from every major class. So after a long, cold, lonely winter, let’s not waste a single minute in getting to the first NHRA Wrap-Up of the 2023 drag race season.

The wait is over drag race fans, as Gainesville Raceway greets thousands of drag racing fans for the 2023 NHRA Gatornationals season kickoff. (Image/Auto Imagery)


2023 NHRA Gatornationals Pro Stock Results

The big story in Pro Stock this weekend might be what didn’t happen: Last season’s champ Erica Enders got knocked out during eliminations when her Pro Stock Chevy Camaro didn’t want to start for the matchup against Jerry Tucker, who took the win by default. At the end of the day though, it was Troy Coughlin Jr.’s 6.637-second, 208.71 mph pass that earned the Wally against Mason McGaha’s 6.765 @ 207.94.


clay millican nhra top fuel dragster burnout at 2023 gatornationals
NHRA Top Fuel Driver Clay Millican during the 2023 NHRA Gatornationals. (Image/Auto Imagery)

2023 NHRA Gatornationals Top Fuel Results

We’ve got a feeling this won’t be the only time we mention Mike Salinas this season. He had a solid 2022 campaign and, if this weekend is any indication, 2023 is going to be solid-er for him. Salinas confronted some fierce competition on his way to the Wally, dispatching Justin Ashley, last year’s Top Fuel champ Brittany Force, and Leah Pruett. In the finals, his 3.700-second, 330.31 mph run was enough to best Steve Torrence’s 3.754 @ 333.82 effort.


Tim Wilkerson debuted fresh Funny Car livery thanks to a new sponsorship arrangement with Scag Power Equipment. (Image/Auto Imagery)

2023 NHRA Gatornationals Funny Car Results

…Aaaaaand he’s back. NHRA Funny Car driver Matt Hagan reprises his role as last year’s Gatornationals Champ with a repeat performance in 2023. But to grab the Wally, he had to face the 2021 champ J.R. Todd in the Finals. After a close launch, some wheel shake and a blown engine in Todd’s car gave Hagan the win, as he raced to victory with a 3.926-second 329.34 mph run.


2023 NHRA Gatornationals Pro Stock Motorcycle Results

Racing world, meet PSM rider Gaige Herrera. After flying under the radar for much of 2022, Herrera nabbed himself a Wally in the first race of the 2023 season—and it might herald a new era of Pro Stock Motorcycle racing. Matched up against Angie Smith in the Final Round, Herrera blasted to a 6.706-second 202.15 mph victory, overcoming Smith’s 6.845 @ 181.84 pass.




Current 2023 NHRA Championship Points Standings


  1. Troy Coughlin Jr., 121
  2. Mason McGaha, 97
  3. Dallas Glenn, 77
  4. Greg Anderson, 76
  5. Kyle Koretsky, 54
  6. Deric Kramer, 53
  7. Matt Hartford, 51
  8. Jerry Tucker, 51
  9. Erica Enders, 42
  10. Bo Butner, 36



  1. Mike Salinas, 115
  2. Steve Torrence, 99
  3. Doug Kalitta, 79
  4. Leah Pruett, 77
  5. Brittany Force, 67
  6. Antron Brown, 54
  7. Austin Prock, 52
  8. Tony Schumacher, 52
  9. Clay Millican, 34
  10. Josh Hart, 33



  1. Matt Hagan, 114
  2. J.R. Todd, 90
  3. Chad Green, 73
  4. Alexis DeJoria, 72
  5. John Force, 64
  6. Ron Capps, 62
  7. Bob Tasca III, 60
  8. Robert Hight, 57
  9. Cruz Pedregon, 33
  10. Blake Alexander, 32



  1. Gaige Herrera, 128
  2. Angie Smith, 94
  3. Chase Van Sant, 82
  4. Jianna Evaristo, 74
  5. Matt Smith, 57
  6. Eddie Krawiec, 52
  7. Ryan Oehler, 52
  8. Joey Gladstone, 51
  9. Steve Johnson, 42
  10. Chip Ellis, 34

Share this Article